Many Locals Honored on VISAA All-State Baseball Team – The Virginian-Pilot

Recent state baseball champions Walsingham Academy and Cape Henry Collegiate were well represented on the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association’s 2022 All-State team.

Walsingham, who beat Carlisle to win the VISAA Division III State Championship, placed eight players on the first team, including Cody Christman, who was named Division III State Player of the Year. He was joined in the first team along with Jacob Miller-Bopp, Trey Christman, Ayden Evans, Luke Harlow, Davis Neighbor, Ryan Terrell and Will Wyles. Teammates Joey Masiak and Sean Sousa were named to the second team. And Trojans coach Ian Heisel was named VISAA Division III Coach of the Year.

Cape Henry, who beat the Miller School of Albemarle to win the VISAA Division I title, put three guys on the first team in Kenny Schaedel, Tanner Schaedel and Parker Wight. Jack Wickum was named to the second team. And Dolphins coach Tim Hummel was named VISAA Division I Coach of the Year.

Here are some other locals named to the all-state team:

Premier League

second team

Section II

first team

  • Brandon Dahlman, Greenbrier Christian Academy
  • Matthew Faircloth, Nansemond-Suffolk
  • Jase Howell, Nansemond-Suffolk
  • Graeme Laurent, Atlantic Shores
  • Trevor Mason, Isle of Wight Academy
  • Bailey Matela, Greenbrier Christian
  • Austin Young, Christian Greenbrier
  • Jake Williams, Atlantic Shores Christian School

second team

  • Brett Beasley, Atlantic Shores
  • Patrick Dudley, Atlantic Coast
  • Trent Holland, Isle of Wight
  • Dustin Moon, Isle of Wight
  • Nance House, Greenbrier Christian
  • Brodie Phillips, Nansemond-Suffolk Academy
  • Bubba Sawyer, Greenbrier Christian Academy

Comments are closed.